How I broke free from script testing

I became a tester without any training. I was doing testing as part of “Making sure what we deploy to live is working” as a sub section of my day, job and I loved it. I decided that subsection should be my job and I applied to become a tester without ticking most of the boxes in the job description.

At that time testing as a job was not popular in my country. So naturally, I used the online guidelines. They were talking about documented test plan before the development, doing testing development phase, make sure test scripts created and followed as it is.

My main task was to create test scripts in my first job as a tester. I felt bored as all I did was going through a web site and write test scripts. When I found issues, they went to a backlog where they will looked at later. No date given. Nevertheless, they were live issues. Some issues can cause customers not fulfil their journey. I suggested that we should start testing with what we have developed than waiting for the last minute. My thoughts are very unpopular because the tech lead/team manager did not like me coming up with new ways of working also not adhere to the process they are committed. They also commented on my lack of experience as a tester. I left the place in 3 months, as I was not enjoying my work.

I started questioning my decision on changing to a tester. I felt lost. In my next job, I started asking questions from a developer mind-set. Fortunately, there were right questions to ask and that helped the team to think. I created test scripts and shared with the developers but kept some scenarios for myself. I guess I wanted those failed scenarios. I wanted to make sure I clear myself as a person who finds the cleverest issues. Be the cleaver one. It paid off. While a new section develop, I just wondered in the application. Came up with situations that are clearly not behave as wanted or a missing requirement.  Not everyone impressed as my issues was delaying the project. However, I was so satisfied with my job. Company closed due to financial troubles and I was on job-hunting again.

Meanwhile I did ISEB beginners course. It helped me to understand some concepts and open few doors to experiment.

Next job required script writing as well. Nevertheless, I slowly moved away from it as the script writing and updating them so much of my time. Slowly I negotiated with the PM and used the scripts as a guideline. As a basic test to provide some documentation that, he needed. One thing I realised is some testers in the team did not know the application well enough to explain it to someone else. They used to follow the scripts and they did not know anything outside the scripts. I did not like the fact. I wanted to wonder around the application and learn about it. How it works and affect with different inputs. I learned so much about the application and found issues in the same time. I was able to explain the application and discuss the functionality with others without a problem.

I practiced the same in my all other jobs after that. People were not happy about it first but I gave them results. Therefore, I was able to walk away from scripts slowly. When there is UAT I had to create scripts as we wanted the people who do the testing to follow exact steps. No room for users to wonder around and find issues. My objection to this dismissed in all projects that needed a UAT.

In current job, when I first started I needed to write teat scenarios for each story. Of course, I did not like it but did not raise my concerns as I was more adjust to the country, people and their practices. Later with my confidence grow I stood up to my beliefs. Wrote a line or two of what I test to make sure I remember what I have covered. I have commented on this several times but I did not change as my manager wanted. She was a project manager and not have any experience on testing. She made sure she read about testing online and make sure I followed the same. However, she slowly gave up following me up with what she read and I got things my way.

Later I read that what I was doing was a flavour of Exploratory testing and I was right to get away from scripts and scenarios. I read the reasons behind the decisions. Nevertheless, I know I am still not doing the Exploratory testing on the right way. Which I am trying.

Lesson learnt was to follow your heart, show results and slowly break away from things that take away your time for documentation and reporting.

Leave a Reply

