Testbash 2015 impact

I was a tester for some time but I have never inspired to pursue my career and questioned myself whether I should continue but my love for what I do always encouraged me.

Blogging is not my strongest skill but with my first TestBash experience I thought maybe I should write my thoughts to highlight an important milestone and then to continue.

Going to TestBash was one of the best experiences I have come across. I had the privilege to be part of an amazing conference and meet fellow testers who share similar experiences, questions, thoughts and answers.

Meeting new people, socialize with them is little bit difficult but I always have my brave face on. But surprisingly I felt I am part of this wonderful community and talking to them made me realise where I am and what I need to do.

Workshop day arrived and I joined my first workshop with heavy heart simply because I have never seen anyone around before. I felt uncomfortable.

Rikke Simonsen’s BDD workshop helped me to understand that BDD is not always about automation. It’s always about the conversation. It helped me to think about the process we follow and how BDD can be applied. Group exercise helped me to talk to people around me. We had to take think from different project roles and come up with questions, answers, scenarios and examples. Which was hard than we thought as we tend to think of the solution and scenarios than actually talking to the business owner. Again, conversation is the key.

Simon Knight and Mark Tomlinson held JMeter workshop. As a newbie to the performance testing world it was a massive help. Both of them made Jmeter looks easy and it encouraged me to spend more time learning the tool. It was a 4hrs session but I don’t think most of us felt the time pass by. Unfortunately Amazon decided to show captcha which messed all our test code but experience was amazing.

I went to the conference day with confident as I knew it would be great. I was a stranger to lean coffee sessions but I got the chance to get included in last minute. Strange most of my group had one common question. What is the next job level for a tester.  It was a great opportunity to meet and greet people which I have met on the previous day. Already I knew few people that I can start a conversation without introducing  myself.

Every speech encouraged me to think. Think about myself, what I need to do with my career and where I am. I was thinking what I want to do in future. Prior to the conference  I was thinking to change my career to something else just because I thought my career has limited growing opportunities. But conference inspired me to think again. Use my skills and do what I love to do.

All this time I felt I am alone in a field where not much future in it. I felt bad that I didn’t know anyone in the conference. It was total my fault of not coming out from the shell and see the world around me. I think I far behind and need to work hard to catchup to the pace the industry is moving. Think differently.

99sec talks showed me how passionate people are to share information. May be I will be on that stage one day. One day…

By the end of the first day I dusted my twitter account and start following the others who I met. I never thought how twitter can help one to keep up with what’s going around. Blogs, articles that I have not come across before.

I am thankful for everyone who made my first TestBash experience memorable and encouraged me to continue what I do best.

Simon Knight asked me what was my favourite topic was on our lunch break. I said Michal Boltons’ because it let me think how words can deceive what we want to tell and how Stephen Janway’s truth scared me. Then Simon said “You should always be in touch with the community. Always”…. and I will be…

Leave a Reply

